How to view all your highlights in one place

How to view your Kindle highlights on the web Kindle tip: How to view all your highlights in one placeWhether you read Kindle books on a smartphone, a tablet, in a web browser, or on an honest-to-goodness Kindle,

There’s also no easy way to copy and paste highlighted passages, not even using Kindle “Cloud” reader on the web.
That said, there is another, little-known way to view your Kindle highlights: using your online, web-based Kindle profile.
Once you activate your profile, you can click a link to quickly scan your highlights across all your Kindle books, all at once.
And yes, you can even copy and paste highlighted passages—within reason, hopefully.
Last but not least, you can also share your Kindle highlights and notes with other Kindle-toting bookworms … but only if you want to, of course.
Your Highlights on Kindle profile 300x229 Kindle tip: How to view all your highlights in one place
You can view all your highlights for every Kindle book you own from your online Kindle profile.
Here’s how…
  • First, visit kindle.amazon.com in your desktop web browser and activate your profile—a process that involves little more than signing in with your Amazon account.
  • Once that’s done, you can customize your profile with your name, city, and other details, or connect your Kindle profile with Facebook or Twitter. You can also just leave your profile blank, if you’d rather.
  • Next, click the “Your Highlights” link at the top of the page, and you’ll see a list of any passages you’ve highlighted in any Kindle book, ever. Any additional highlights (and “notes,” for that matter) will appear in this list once you’ve synced your Kindle device and/or app.
  • Want to copy and paste a highlight? Just select it, copy it to your system’s virtual clipboard (Command + C on a Mac, or Control + C on a PC), then paste it into a Word or text document (Command + V for Mac, Command + V for PC), just as you normally would.
  • To nix a highlight remotely, just click the nearby “Delete this highlight” link.
  • Finally, you can share a highlight with other Kindle users. Click the “Your Books” link at the top of the page, click on a book with highlights you want to share, then click the “Make Public” button in the top-right corner of the page. And in case you’re wondering, your existing highlights will remain private until you say otherwise.
How to view all your highlights in one place
Read More..

How to view everything you’ve ever “liked”

How to view all your Facebook likes Facebook tip: How to view everything youve ever likedSo, how many photos, updates, web pages, and other online items have you “liked” on Facebook? A few dozens? Hundreds? Maybe even (gulp) thousands?

Not only can you review all your past “likes,” you can also change their individual privacy settings or hide them from your Facebook timeline.
And if you want to “unlike” an old “like,” you can do that, too.
(In case you’re wondering, “unliking” something in your Activity Log merely removes a previous “like”; there’s still no actual “unlike” button.)
Here’s how…
  • Visit your timeline on Facebook (just click your name at the top of any Facebook page), click the Activity Log button (it’s the one beneath your jumbo-sized “cover” photo), then click the “Likes” link in the left-hand column.
  • Reviewing Facebook likes in Activity Log 300x177 Facebook tip: How to view everything youve ever liked
    Not only can you review your past Facebook “likes,” you can hide or even “unlike” them.
  • In a moment or so, you should see a list of all your various “likes,” starting with the most recent. To quickly jump down to an earlier month or year, click the column of dates to the right of your “likes” list.
  • Next to each of your likes, you’ll see a pair of icons. The first icon represents the privacy setting for the “like” in question: a little globe for “public,” a pair of silhouettes for “friends,” a gear for “custom,” and a padlock for “only me.” To change the privacy setting, click the icon and select a new option.
  • The second icon looks like a small pencil. Click the icon to either “allow” or hide a “like” from your timeline—or, if you wish, to “unlike” an old “like” altogether.
  • All done? If so, you can simply dive back into your Facebook feeds; no need to click a “Save changes” button.
 How to view everything you’ve ever “liked”
Read More..

Powered by Blogger.